Friday, February 11, 2011

Marketing departments need editors too

Ooh, here's HarperCollins's marketing department's description of Children of Scarabaeus:

Sara Creasy burst onto the sf scene with The Song of Scarabeaus—prompting Publishers Weekly to praise her as, “a significant new talent,” and her novel as, “a brilliantly conceived debut,” in a starred rave review. With Children of Scarabeaus she returns us to her boldly imagined universe for another ingenious blending of rich characterization, breathtaking science fiction adventure, fascinating speculation, and engrossing romance in the vein of Linnea Sinclair and Ann Aguirre. Children of Scarabeaus cements Creasy’s reputation as one of sf’s most exciting new practitioners—as cypherteck Edie Sha’nim and her bodyguard lover Finn uncover an insidious scheme by the tyrannical Crib empire that involves the enslavement of children and the destruction of worlds.

OTT or what! :) Guess I should write to them about the spelling errors in the books' titles.

2 comments:

Mardel said...

I almost made that mistake myself when I postes about your book. :) but then I'm not a professional, they're supposed to be. :)

Tez Miller said...

"Scarabeaus" sounds like beautiful men who shape-shift into...scarabs ;-) "Children of Scarabeaus" would be their progent ;-)